55 responses

  1. MIchael Kawula
    January 15, 2014

    Great post Marcus and I’m sure that the presentation was Awesome!

    You know I’m a huge fan and believer of your Big 5.

    Its funny I was talking to a few local business owners at a Meetup who were complaining they don’t get enough reviews. I in-turn asked how many leave reviews for other Small Businesses in the area and none of them did.

    Give & you shall receive. Safe travels sir and sorry didn’t see you at NMX this year. You’re one of the best dynamic speakers I’ve ever heard. Kawula

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Great points Michael, and sorry I missed you as well at NMX. But hopefully you had an incredible time and walked away w what you were looking for.

      Thanks for your support and readership bud,

      Marcus

  2. Meredith Juengel
    January 15, 2014

    Wow, Marcus! The ideas for new articles I can write are just flowing. Carving out time in my schedule now. Thanks for another thought provoking blog articles that actually explains the “How” and not just the “Why.”

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Meredith, it’s my pleasure. I hope you implement some of these right away :)

      Best to you!

      Marcus

  3. Ryan Hanley
    January 15, 2014

    Marcus,

    I’ve been following you for a long time. When I read your “Best of” idea for the first time I knew how genius it was. I wrote a post list the 5 best insurance agencies in Albany that day… That was a year ago at least. We get calls because of that article almost every week.

    People love that we had to balls to do it.

    Keep rocking hard my friend.

    Hanley

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Hahaha, Hanley, and this is exactly why I love you brother. You don’t sit there and question the way it has always been done– you just get it done.

      It amazes me how many folks have disagreed with me over that strategy, but yet when people actually DO IT, they are blown away w the results.

      Thanks for being a leader RH,

      Marcus

  4. Sally Black
    January 15, 2014

    GREAT article as always Marcus – I would have given anything to hear you specifically address travel industry issues!
    The travel sector is a bit unusual when it comes specifically to reviews. Many seasoned travelers know to go directly to review sites (tripadvisor) instead of simply doing a generic Google Search. Lately we’ve been taking a blitz approach for the resort properties we sell – 1. A separate review page on our website more factual, 2. a blog post review which is more fun/casual. 3.We also post our own review on sites like tripadvisor. We cannot be “salezy” but just give our honest opinions addressing more kid/family travel issues which most reviews do not address. 4. Whenever possible, we encourage our clients to post honest reviews and just include the line “we booked our trip with Vacationkids” or “We first saw this resort on Vacationkids”. We figured out, if you cannot beat them, join them and so far, it seems to be working. It’s a lot of work but we think it gives us more opportunities to score big.

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Sally, super cool! LOVE what you’re doing and it sounds like you all are seriously working some angles over there.

      Keep up the great work!!

      Marcus

  5. Sheryl Kurland
    January 15, 2014

    Marcus, another point I’ve come to realize is that, unfortunately, there are business people (or people they ask to do this…) who go on the “third party” sites and slam their competitors. So, a consumer could be over looking an excellent company due to “bad” reviews. Your points are on the money, for sure.

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      That’s a big bummer when I see that Sheryl, as it has happened to me before in the swimming pool industry by competitors.

      So yes, anything we can do to positively impact the conversation, the better off we are.

      Great seeing you Sheryl!
      Marcus

  6. Teena
    January 15, 2014

    Hey Monsieur Lion!

    As always your blog posts leave me wanting MORE — I could’ve kept reading your wise words for at least another 15-30 minutes :-)

    I agree wholeheartedly — I think many of the types of businesses you mentioned put this kind of problem in the “too hard” basket, and don’t want to face it because they don’t think they can do anything about it.

    In this post I love that you don’t only give us examples, but show what’s worked for your own clients in real-world situations.

    I’m on the bandwagon, waving the flag for this type of content marketing — and I’m pleased to say slowly but surely people are starting to pay attention and listen.

    Thanks so much Marcus! PS — hope that health scare recently got sorted.

    Ciao for now
    Teena

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Teena, you’re too kind! And I’m so happy you found some value here.

      And yes, I’m feeling much better!! :-)

      Marcus

  7. Churchill Madyavanhu
    January 15, 2014

    The “Big 5″ just gave me ideas for blog posts for my school. I have been trying to find what to write about, but it hasn’t been easy. Michael Kawula also has a point when he says you need to give first in order to receive. That’s something to keep in mind when dealing with other businesses that also need positive reviews.

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Churchill, thrilled to hear it helped. Generally speaking, if someone is really thinking creatively, the Big 5 can go and go and go.

      Good luck w this and let me know how it goes for you!

      Marcus

  8. Henry Johnson
    January 15, 2014

    Marcus,

    I agree with this, so many people shy away from these kind of posts and they are some of the best you can do. Actually all of the Big 5 except “best” questions really seem to be challenges for business owners to agree too but they are the best ones do. I believe you did a post on writing a review post before, you should link that here, I think it would really help the people who havent read your Ebook yet.

    Also, Churchill Madyavanhu I recommend you read Marcus’s Ebook, a lot of gold in there.

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      Really appreciate the kind words Henry :-)

  9. Jeremy Abel
    January 15, 2014

    Hi Marcus,

    Excellent topic for discussion- your approach to using reviews for building a wider [and relevant] presence in the search engines, establishing thought leadership, and creating trust is top notch. As you know the hotel/lodging industry is my specialty so this topic certainly resonates.

    But there’s another element that hotels and lodges are severely overlooking when it comes to creating review-oriented content for current and potential guests- and that element is sharing information about their region.

    From best local restaurants to things to do to area attractions and events, travelers aren’t heading to Google just to book a room; rather, they’re searching for information about the region that will help shape their entire travel experience. And who better to provide them with this information than a business with deep roots in the region and is already in-tune with their respective travel needs/preferences?

    Today, with the ease by which we can obtain such detailed information about our target market and subsequently use that data to publish timely and relevant content, hotels/resorts/inns need to think of their website, blog and social media platforms as a “Digital Concierge” for guests’ travel needs. By providing helpful information that extends beyond their own offer (i.e. rooms), hotels can have a significant impact on a larger part of guests’ travel experience, and in so doing, expand their presence in the search engines while becoming a trusted resource for all travel-related decisions.

    Closing thought: All businesses should be striving to become the “digital concierge” of their respective industry by sharing relevant advice pertaining to their audience’s entire consumption experience.

    Again, excellent topic for the hotel/lodging industry and beyond, and one that certainly deserves further discussion. I’m sure you rocked the house at that conference!

    As always, thanks for sharing your insights, Marcus. Keep changing lives my friend.

    Jeremy

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 15, 2014

      GREAT points Jeremy. Love your big picture thinking with this…boy some folks could use your brains in the hotel/B&B industry!!!

      Always am grateful when you stop by my man,

      Marcus

  10. Adam Dukes
    January 16, 2014

    Another great post and I have bought into your “Big 5″ as well. In fact, I wrote a blog post last summer highlighting the best 3 social media companies in Vegas, the funny thing was — 2 of my “competitors” shared it with their following. I need to write a follow up post titled “How I Get My Competition to Share My Content”.

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 17, 2014

      You made me laugh out loud with that one brother. Love it!!!

      Marcus

  11. Sunday
    January 16, 2014

    You are spot on Marcus, ” it’s time businesses started taking things into their own hands and begun controlling important conversations had online about the “Big 5”” I couldn’t agree with you more.

    Developing an effective content marketing strategy would help most businesses control the level of engagements and ultimately conversions that would accrue to their sites. Your post is a readily a thought-provoking one!

    This comment was left in kingged.com where this post was found and aggregated for online marketers.

    Sunday – kingged.com contributor

    http://kingged.com/the-tragedy-of-third-party-and-review-sites-and-how-content-marketing-can-fix-it/

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 17, 2014

      Appreciate your thoughts and you stopping by Sunday.

      best!

      Marcus

  12. Marcel
    January 16, 2014

    Hi Marcus,

    Thanks for the post – it definitely was a paradigm change for me.

    I’ve always been sort of a micro person whereas your post is definitely about a larger macro picture.

    Plenty to chew on.

    Marcel

  13. Escadas Caracol
    January 20, 2014

    Boa tarde Marcus.

    Seus posts são incríveis! Muito claros e de fácil entendimento. Não sou do ramo mas com certeza venho agradecer pois a cada postagem sua entendo um pouquinho mais e consigo bons resultados.

    Parabéns…

  14. Sally Black
    January 21, 2014

    Considering our recent discussions here I thought I’d share this article on how Expedia recently got “spanked” with their Google ranking do to the use of “unnatural links”
    http://hotelmarketing.com/index.php/content/article/expedia_lost_25_of_their_search_visibility_in_google

    • Marcus Sheridan
      January 21, 2014

      Nothing worse than Google Spankage Sally! ;-)

  15. abhishek
    January 27, 2014

    thnx a lot for the great post ..totatly agreed with you about the role of third party

  16. Reiki Healing Master
    July 3, 2014

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you are utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more safeguarded.
    Do you have any solutions?

  17. tour de magie
    July 14, 2014

    Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this
    website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m
    book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and excellent style and design.

  18. paterina krediti
    July 29, 2014

    Hi to every one, it’s actually a nice for me to go to see this site, it consists
    of valuable Information.

  19. blog canadien sur la fibromyalgie
    August 21, 2014

    This is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for seeking extra of your wonderful post.

    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  20. Buy HCG
    August 22, 2014

    Properly, they truly are here in order to assist you follow your diet.
    But If you are trying-to-conceive , every time you miss your period, your hopes that you
    are now finally pregnant go up. It helps you lose weight swift and you’ll
    not be required to carry out physical exercise.

  21. become video game tester
    August 25, 2014

    I’m not sure why but this site is loading extremely slow for me.

    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  22. treatment centers for depression and anxiety
    August 26, 2014

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each
    time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Cheers!

  23. Candelaria
    August 26, 2014

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never
    seem to get there! Cheers

  24. recuperar-archivos-borrados.net
    August 29, 2014

    Ciesrtamente uno de llos más completos blogs sobre la temática
    que es posible localizar en la blogosfera.
    Felicitaciones de nuevo por el magnífico contenido. Un saludo!

  25. Kentucky KY Fiat Dealers
    September 2, 2014

    Owners are given a claim to a portion of the purchased
    gold. The dealer may, from time too time, show a 2
    or 3 the rules of the game require the dealer to take
    at least one card. Numismatic coins may cost much
    more becase of their rarity and limited quantity.

  26. hack facebook application download
    September 2, 2014

    VentureBeat is finding out cell app analytics.

  27. Cerys
    September 6, 2014

    10 to 15 (multi-exercise movement)- rest
    90 seconds. When creating a slogan, aim for the heart by playing up the emotional effect.
    An effective boxing fitness weight training technique is the 5-5 triset deadlift-squat-lunge.

  28. Sin City j’ai tué pour elle fr
    September 7, 2014

    If you have a home theatre system or a pair
    of loudspeakers then you will want to get the best possible sound quality and maximum potential from your speaker system.
    He, along with the other townspeople, watches the beautiful
    theater being demolished. Hence, the people are well educated
    and highly concerned about the development of the region and keenly look forward to make their lives
    always easy.

  29. local buy here pay here
    September 14, 2014

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, hoow could
    i subscribe for a blpog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    Ihad been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered
    bright clear idea

  30. buy here pay here
    September 14, 2014

    Hey there just wanjted to give you a brfief heads up and let
    you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure whyy but I think iits a
    linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

  31. Green Coffee Max Cleanse Review
    September 15, 2014

    hi!,I really like your writing so so much! share we keep up a correspondence more approximately your post on AOL?
    I require an expert in this area to resolve my problem.
    May be that is you! Looking ahead to see you.

Back to top
mobile desktop